Camp James Awards and Camper Reviews: Newport Beach’s Best

#1 IN ORANGE COUNTY camp reviews!

#1 IN ORANGE
COUNTY!

Voted #1 Summer Camp in Orange County

Yelp filterYelpFacebook filterFacebook
5 star rating
My son went to Camp James for 4 weeks this summer and it was the best experience for him. He would come home and tell me about swimming, paddle boarding, laser tag, archery, karate .....so many fun activities that just scream "best summer camp ever". The experience was absolutely everything that I wanted for him and I am so glad he had the best counselor (Kiki) and made such great memories.
read more
Jennifer C. Avatar
Jennifer C.
8/11/2023
5 star rating
This is our second year at camp James and first year my 6 yo daughter did 4 weeks, this year she asked for 6 weeks. It is a fun camp with no gadgets, lots of activities to chose from and all the time outside. Camp counselors have been fun and engaging, she runs there!
read more
Jacob M. Avatar
Jacob M.
6/20/2023
5 star rating
Camp James is an incredible place. Our son attended for the first time this summer and I previously attended camp as a child myself. Many of the same directors have been working there the entire time! Because they have extensive use of Newport Dunes, there is a huge variety of activities - water park, go karts, laser tag, bounce house, swimming, yoga, STEM, archery, music, rock wall, dance and more! The camp groups rotate through the activities every week so each day is different and well balanced. Your kids will come home tired and happy! The directors, counselors and staff are so caring, nurturing, and enthusiastic, and are particularly good at tailoring their approach to each camper. My son is particularly "spirited" and the directors and his counselor worked closely with us to ensure he had a great and safe experience. Everything is well thought out - it feels like kid paradise! They have secure check-in/out, good lunches, creative theme weeks and even special awards for the kids each week. We felt the enrollment and refund policies were very clearly lined out and fair. We also appreciated the very clear communication and reminders. Camp has not only been fun for my son, but incredible for his self esteem and growth. He has taken on new challenges and built a confidence that I never would have expected coming into the summer. 100% recommend. Sign up early as space does fill up!
read more
Carrie C. Avatar
Carrie C.
8/05/2022
5 star rating
Director "legend" is so amazing running this amazing camp along with all the camp counselors. How they deal with all these kids at once and having to deal with the kids SELF ENTITLED PARENTS who come and give them a hard time when they don't get their way. They're literally watching all these kids and keeping your kids safe and you have the audacity to get mad at them. I witnessed a mom have a tantrum when I was picking up my daughter and because she didn't follow the safety protocols when picking up her child she thought she can just walk In a take her kid but there are safety rules you need to follow for SAFETY REASONS!! The counselors take OUR children's safety very seriously. There are so many activities the camp is sooooo worth the money. I just can't believe they are able to handle all the fun events and kids it's crazy! I love it
read more
Alex L. Avatar
Alex L.
6/24/2022
5 star rating
I wish I was a kid again. Kids come home exhausted and just fall asleep, which is great for parents. Yeah its expensive, but it's newport beach and everything is expensive here. The counselors do a fantastic job considering that they are able to wrangle all these kids and keep them safe... they must have the patience of a saint. The amount of different activities they have is insane.... and they have some seriously cool ones; go carts, ziplines, paddle boarding, swim time in the bay and the pool, a little train that the kids can ride in, etc.
read more
Coco M. Avatar
Coco M.
6/22/2022
5 star rating
My name is Barbara and my twin 10 year old granddaughters just had the most amazing week at Camp James. They loved the zip line and water park the most. But their whole week was "the best" Thanks Camp James! See you next year
read more
Haley G. Avatar
Haley G.
6/14/2022
5 star rating
Attending camp for the first time and my son absolutely loves it. Plan to return every summer. Everyone you encounter is kind and helpful. Highly recommend this summer camp.
read more
Victoria P. Avatar
Victoria P.
6/07/2022
5 star rating
This camp is the best hands down for kids to be a part of. My kids have attended many camps but this one by far is the best. (Ignore the one star reviews, the people who work this camp are so friendly and easy when you don't treat them with an entitled attitude) I get told each day about the activities and my kids are dirty and tired just how they should be at the end of each day! Wish I could attend!
read more
Andrew L. Avatar
Andrew L.
7/26/2021
Wow! My twins just had the best experience at Camp James. The leaders were all so encouraging and supportive throughout the camp and, my girls came home feeling important each day! From the fun lunches brought in, to the water jungle, my kids never wanted to come home.
It was a TEN! Sign up early, it sells out every Summer!
read more
Kel Lee Kalklosch Nowak Avatar
Kel Lee Kalklosch Nowak
7/19/2021
5 star rating
Wow! What a great week my twins had at Camp James. I normally don't comment on sites, but my girls loved everything about it. From the cool teen leaders, to the food brought in and the way each leader made my girls feel important and included! I highly recommend this for ALL kids!!
read more
Kel Lee N. Avatar
Kel Lee N.
7/18/2021
This is my daughters 4th year attending Camp James. Every year, she counts down the days until camp. She even wants to be a counselor here when she’s older! With all the craziness this year due to Covid, Camp James has been amazing. They’ve made everything so easy! Legend (the Camp Director) has been my saving grace! She’s so patient with my 5000 questions and always so friendly (never annoyed by all my questions). The camp has done such an amazing job keeping it safe this year (taking temperatures, hand washing, masks, social distancing). I haven’t seen my daughter this happy since March!! Thank you Camp James & Legend for all that you do for our kids!!
read more
Leanne Collins Avatar
Leanne Collins
7/21/2020
5 star rating
This is the second year our daughter has gone to Camp James. She always has such a great time, staff is amazing and are always so warm and welcoming. Obviously it's different this year with Covid, but they are still doing an amazing job! Our daughter always adores her counselors and doesn't stop telling us how much fun she had that day all the way home. Highly recommended! She will be going back for years to come!
read more
Brian D. Avatar
Brian D.
7/21/2020
5 star rating
We are so grateful that the children have the opportunity to go to camp this summer. Camp James has been wonderful for the kids and the camp has taken great strides in keeping everyone safe and healthy. Being outside is the best thing for everyone and camp this summer has been such a help for everyone's wellbeing.
read more
David B. Avatar
David B.
7/21/2020
5 star rating
we love this camp! the kids come home so exhausted from a busy and super fun day. we love the precautions they have in place to handle the pandemic. super organized and extremely fun for kiddos. highly recommend.
read more
Kaili Y. Avatar
Kaili Y.
7/21/2020
5 star rating
This is my daughters 4th year attending Camp James. Every year, she counts down the days until camp. She even wants to be a counselor here when she's older! With all the craziness this year due to Covid, Camp James has been amazing. They've made everything so easy! Legend (the Camp Director) has been my saving grace! She's so patient with my 5000 questions and always so friendly (never annoyed by all my questions). The camp has done such an amazing job keeping it safe this year (taking temperatures, hand washing, masks, social distancing). I haven't seen my daughter this happy since March!! Thank you Camp James & Legend for all that you do for our kids!!
read more
Leanne C. Avatar
Leanne C.
7/21/2020
5 star rating
I am so happy to report that CampJames is the place to send your kids for the summer. I wish I had sent the kids sooner. The activities are amazing and the groups are small because of COVID and safety is there top priority. The camp counselors are amazing. Legend was so friendly and helpful. I highly recommend camp James.
read more
Michelle P. Avatar
Michelle P.
7/21/2020
An incredible camp right in Newport Beach - well run (Legend is great to work with) and definitely an awesome experience for the kids.
read more
Gregory Moore Avatar
Gregory Moore
7/20/2020
5 star rating
Camp James is great. My older kid who used to attend when it was behind Wild Rivers is now a CILT there and it has been a great experience for him and helps get him off technology. Now my younger kids attend and they have a great time with all the water activities, STEM and drama. It has been nice to have something this year with all the kids activities that have been cancelled.
read more
Tiffany C. Avatar
Tiffany C.
7/02/2020
5 star rating
Camp James is where we watched a boy become a man, a second home for our camper, and a true family for a kid that went from camper to volunteer to staff member. It's the most welcoming environment for all children, special needs inclusive. They raise money for charity each year (this year raising $10,000 for CHOC in one week). It is the most fun you can have in a summer with activities varying from water park to archery to laser tag, go karts, mini golf, karate, music...the list goes on. Truly a place a where a child can complement their development in the classroom, learning to interact, make friends, and have fun outside of school. It's a place where people really care and with so many traditions and cool theme weeks. When you step foot onto the campgrounds, the overall spirit will make you wish you could attend the camp yourself!
read more
Jay K. Avatar
Jay K.
8/29/2019
5 star rating
My son is special needs - ADHD, ASD, and he has sensory challenges. The head counselor, "Jazz," was highly organized, communicative, and worked with our family to provide a positive camp experience for my anxious, high-energy 7 year old. My son has a behavior IEP (at school) that is as long as I am tall, and at this camp, he did not have any issues. The staff accommodated us by providing his daily schedule ahead of time so that we could front-load him on what his day would be like. His daily "helper" and counselor were attentive, kid-centered, and sweet; but they were firm enough to set and enforce boundaries with a rowdy group of seven year olds. I cannot even imagine how much work, organization, and training go into running this highly efficient, well-staffed enterprise. The counselors really look out for the kids, and their enthusiasm for making Camp James a truly memorable experience is clear. After a truly devastating school year, we are so grateful to this place for restoring our son's confidence and happy demeanor. Thank you Andrew and your entire staff for all your hard work and follow-through!!
read more
Teresa B. Avatar
Teresa B.
8/28/2019
5 star rating
My 8-year-old daughter loves this place. Her favorite activities are the morning dance party, swimming in the back bay, kayaking, and the inflatable bouncy houses. My daughter has (at times) paralyzing anxiety. So sending her somewhere unfamiliar, where she doesn't know anyone, is risky at best and more often than not, a total disaster. The staff are so caring and understanding; they checked in on her and provided updates and feedback to us. She begged us to send her back again this summer. Thank you Camp James from a very grateful family!
read more
Heather K. Avatar
Heather K.
8/11/2019
5 star rating
This camp is a diamond in the rough. I was a little taken by the reviews before my son was signed up for this camp, but I decided to go for it. He had the BEST time! He was in such a good group with great company!! They did activities like go karting, kayaks, laser tag! Will DEFINITELY be back 🙂
read more
Drew L. Avatar
Drew L.
8/10/2019
5 star rating
Camp james is like home to me!! It is an amazing place to work, incredibly fun, flexible and accommodating while also being structured and professional. It's an outdoor camp, so it's definitely geared towards kids who don't mind getting a bit sandy, who like swimming (there's at least one water activity every day! with lifejackets, so it's okay if your kiddo can't swim yet), and who like meeting new friends!! Guaranteed every camper will get to do something they've never tried before at least once a day. Camp James is an amazing experience for kids, especially in the age of technology where many kids don't love going outside.
read more
Gracie B. Avatar
Gracie B.
8/10/2019
5 star rating
We love Camp James My son has some challenges emotionally . The counselor, Director and the Coordinator for special needs kids have been wonderful . They have worked with me in assuring the best camp experience for my son . They offered a shadow for 2 weeks to help my son transition into camp free of charge ! I highly recommend anyone with or without special needs children to send their kids to Camp James .
read more
Michelle B. Avatar
Michelle B.
8/07/2019